Poets logo

Piece 4: Honest Henry

The Dirty Park Bench Epitaph Anthology

By Bryttnie ChaffinPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Piece 4: Honest Henry
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

We were cast out, set aside.

Sent to this ghost town,

Run-down amusement park.

We could see our pasts play in the house of broken mirrors.

In the haunted house we took shifts being on display.

We became the circus act,

Full of freaks & beasts,

The mice that scared the mighty elephant,

The broken would up car,

The doll missing a limb or a painted eye,

Runts of our litters,

A purple nosed clown.

Our stage, a miniature palace, built upon our broken dreams.

We called our show "Nightmare Daydream."

I lie here, covered in dirt,

My relatives weren't even willing to splurge on a casket,

Not even a blanket to wrap me in.

But at least my friends put my hand into a fist,

Giving me a piece of our silk circus tent,

Embroidered with gems,

Patterned with colored stripes & false promises.

The piece of cloth,

Wrinkled & crinkled,

Stripped & ripped,

Torn & stained,

Just like me.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bryttnie Chaffin

Writing things that are fun and/or have powerful emotion behind it, maybe some educational things. Writing about my personal feelings, those of others (real or fictional), or just fun things that my mind makes up. Thanks for reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.