Poets logo

Phases of Change

Change and Acceptance

By Crystal McGrawPublished 8 days ago 2 min read
Like
Phases of Change
Photo by Omer Salom on Unsplash

I don't understand, you act so different around me.

I've built walls after everything I've been through.

I'm the one you're supposed to open up to, can't you see?

I can see just fine; don't you understand all my mistrust came from you?

Everything that happened is behind us, can't we just move past?

I don't think you understand. Every time I've let it go, something else goes wrong.

I've apologized a thousand times, it's with you that I want it to last.

You've hurt me so much and I still stayed. Maybe somewhere I don't belong.

Don't say that. You know I love you.

It's taken me becoming distance for you to realize this.

That's not what I meant. You know that's not true.

Well, when I begged for you, you didn't care, I was dismissed.

I agree that I did some stupid things, but I don't want you to go anywhere.

It should've never been this way. It shouldn't take me not caring for you to care.

I know that and I'm sorry. All I want is for you to stay here.

I'm so afraid to be close to you again, another heartache is something I can't bear.

I never meant to hurt you the way that I did. I don't know what I was thinking.

You think this is something I can just get over, but I think about everything at random times.

I wish you wouldn't think about the bad things and just focus on us. I don't know what else I can say, I feel like I'm sinking.

It's not that easy. It's not like I choose to think about it, all the times I couldn't get ahold of you, all the lonely nights. Every time I was crying, thinking about when everything was sublime.

It hurts me to see how much I hurt you. Please break down these walls and get close to me again, you must.

I don't know if I can. Time and time again, it was too much.

Listen to my words, take my hands and look into my eyes.

You're crying, but I still don't think you understand. I feel like I'm hanging by a thread that I've tried so hard to clutch.

Give me one last chance to prove that we belong together. As sure as it rains in the summer and snows in the winter, the stars shine at night and the sun in the day, I will make sure to prove my love to you until the day I die.

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Crystal McGraw

I'm always speaking my mind, When I'm better off biting my tongue

I'm a bad joke at the wrong time .Hell,I'm a legend in my own mind

I'm good for some but I'm not for everyone~Brother's Osbourne.

I'm here to write stories& tell my story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.