Poets logo

Perfecting parkrun performance

1.2.3. Challenge for Poppy!

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published 6 months ago 1 min read
15
Picturesque parkrun course

1. Refrain from swinging from the rafters after midnight…

Alarm shrills seconds later… causing a fright!😳

2. Fuel up on a speedy, snack

Prevent those glucose levels getting out of whack.

3. Quickly, quickly… don’t be late

Fellow parkrunners will not wait!

4. Crisp, breezes waft… birds chirp aloft.

5. Remember to stretch those calves…

Others sure won’t do things by halves.

6. Smiles and chatter…

7. Visitors made welcome

Dogs’ feet patter

Babes gurgling in strollers, join in the bedlam.

8. Hustle to the start…

watches & phones are prepped.

10. Record the racing heart and ‘blistering’ pace kept.

Yes… here we go!

11. Overtake all who are too slow.

Silent breathing begins to labour

Just got passed by my neighbour!

12. Ear pods blast, keep the beat fast.

13. Top of the hill for a photo…

“Always run then”… that’s my motto.

Jog… walk… plod.

14. The finish shoot looms…

Running on fumes.

15. Think it was a PB?

Maybe… we shall see.

😊🏃🏻🏃🏽🏃🏼‍♂️😵‍💫🏃🏻🙃🏃🏼‍♂️

parkrun is a free 5 km weekly, community event held worldwide… you can run, jog, walk, volunteer and or spectate. It is a highly inspirational, social event which helps improve your mental and physical wellbeing.

Why not give it a go?🤗

listinspirationalhumorfact or fiction
15

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading… especially fiction and recently poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 🙃

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz5 months ago

    This was so point on. I felt like it was me (used to be me) I loved those mornings, frustrating at times but always worth it at the end.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Angie this was so well written! I love your use of imagery and descriptive language, the enthusiasm with which you write is tangible and striking! I love the scene you painted for us here! Great work!

  • Andy Potts6 months ago

    Feels like a fair few Saturday mornings. Struggling with the cold these last few weeks, mind!

  • Loved the flow of this and it’s been years since I ran a 5k most I do now is a mile or two

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    Very close to my own routine... 😉

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Never heard of this, but I would love to walk/run, running is like that for me these days. This was a very healthy read. 😫

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    😍😍This makes me want to run with a fun group!! And I don’t even like to run 🤣🫣

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Who knew running could be such fun!! 😁 Love it! Great work Angie. 😊👏

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    'A' - If there was ever a time to just stop to 'smell' the flowers this is it - just lovely - 'J'

  • "Just got passed by my neighbour" almost made me laugh out loud. Very good.

  • Oooo, I really loved this! At the risk of sounding dumb, may I know what PB is? I'm guessing it's not peanut butter 😅

  • Poppy 6 months ago

    This is awesome! I loved the first line and getting overtaken by your neighbour but my favourite is obviously the 'Dogs’ feet patter' :) Super creative, thanks for taking part again Angie💛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.