Poets logo

Perfect Skin

The Sweet Summer Song Challenge

By Rachel RobbinsPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
8
Lloyd Cole and The Commotions

This is my response to the Sweet Summer Challenge From Oneg and James.

Challenge #1 Sweet Summer Song: Pick a song that represents summer for you. Use the song as the title of your piece, and to inspire either a poem or a short story/micro fiction about summer. Feel free to use some of the song's lyrics in your piece as well. So what does summer feel like for you? Click here

Back as a teenager in the 1980s, I had bought the Rattlesnakes album by Lloyd Cole and the Commotions a couple of years after its release and played it on repeat. Still to this day, when I hear Are You Ready to be Heartbroken, I have a Pavlovian impulse to get up and turn the record over to listen all over again.

The album was true to my teenage aspirations to be sophisticated and aloof (and a little bit obscure). My other aspiration at the time was to be Lloyd Cole’s one-time lover and muse for future wistful love songs. It is interesting I didn’t see him as a steady and reliable long-term partner. I suspect I realised that the deftly written witty lyrics probably came at the expense of easy company.

But my favourite song lyric of all time remains:

She's got cheekbones like geometry and eyes like sin

And she's sexually enlightened by cosmopolitan…

Lloyd Cole - looking dreamy

The longest summer is the one just before university

For me it was a summer of wistful lyrics and witty asides

Pinning down my personality and trying on sophistication for size.

I chose my soundtrack, oh so well.

There was no cohesive narrative.

Just some words that sounded cool.

My teenage crush I chose him, oh so well.

He wanted cheekbones like geometry and eyes like sin

I was a Holly Go-Lightly vibe

And eyes too large

He didn’t smile my way

(Or any way – he knew a pout looked better on camera)

And my eyes went out in vain.

Me at 18 - my student union card photo - feeling like Holly Golightly - but looking exactly like I am

Lloyd was a boy, I knew him oh so well.

He had hair like Elvis and eyes like a puppy

He was lyrically enlightened by Dylan's Subterranean Homesick Blues

In case you come to a conclusion

Other than that which is absolutely necessary

We would take a car-ride from the grimy pavements of the city

And we would lay a blanket on the great outdoors

And I would be sexually enlightened by a problem page in Just 17.

Lloyd Cole - scowling because smiling is uncouth

And I’m not the only one to indulge in a one-off date. Also check out this story about a date with Harry Styles.

If you've enjoyed what you have read, consider subscribing to my writing on Vocal. If you'd like to support my writing, you can do so by leaving a one-time tip. Thank you.

love poems
8

About the Creator

Rachel Robbins

Writer-Performer based in the North of England. A joyous, flawed mess.

Please read my stories and enjoy. And if you can, please leave a tip. Money raised will be used towards funding a one-woman story-telling, comedy show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    So well done, I have to listen to this song again!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Very well done.

  • James U. Rizzi10 months ago

    Looooove the theme here. So enthralled be the creativity of a loving venture. You shown how powerful a song can be, and the veritable of emotion it can incur, this one sizzled.

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Fantastic work!

  • Veronica Stone10 months ago

    As I read this I am listening to a playlist of songs from my teenage years (playlists will never match up to mixtapes, but I am making do!) and Lenny Kravitz's 'Stand By My Woman' is playing. It is one of those songs that send chills down my spine and freeze me to the spot the second I hear the opening chords, and I am 15 again, and the world is full of possibilities. I think we all need more reminders like this; to remember who we were and who we wanted to be, in a time when it felt anything was possible. I can't go back there, but I can write myself a new beginning, and taste those different lives.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    So well done and a very personnel take on the prompt.

  • Oneg In The Arctic10 months ago

    Oh I love this so much, and how you structured it from prose to poem to prose so smoothly And this line 🔥 “Pinning down my personality and trying on sophistication for size.” So true!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.