Poets logo

Perfect Extrospection

From an Introspective Mind

By Paige GraffunderPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo by Jen We on Unsplash

Moments where I turn my critical eye outward

Usually result in,

At best,

My utter contempt.

At worst,

My self-destruction.

So I have learned what the AA-ers taught me

And found the courage to change the things I can.

What could be more malleable than my own,

Fractious,

Broken,

Turbulent,

Mind?

So I have dedicated years to ruthless

Introspection.

Making myself into a person that while,

I don’t get too chummy with them,

I can stand to occupy the same skin as.

So for the majority of my adult life I have

Turned my eyes in

Looked to myself for answers

For perfect moments of clarity

To change and mold the way that I react,

Adapt,

Change,

Grow.

But sometimes,

In the wee hours of the morning,

When everyone else should be sleeping,

I turn my face to the window.

I look out upon the world,

Gaze into its cold and unfeeling face,

And see,

Nothing,

But

Miracles.

I see the way the dew collects on the grass,

Their little green arms raised to the sun.

To be blessed by this,

Sparkling,

Drop

Of wonder.

I see a person parallel park perfectly the first try.

I see the sun creep over the mountains,

Spilling yellow and gold and pink and perfect warmth

Over a ground too frozen to remember sweating.

I see curls,

I see eyes,

Inquisitive,

Full of love,

Cloyed with sleep.

I see hands,

Calloused so long they have gone smooth,

Reach from under blankets,

To touch my face.

I see strangers helping strangers.

I see protests for love of each other.

I see strength in vulnerability,

And comfort in nakedness.

I see a heady rush of chemicals.

My brain is a lab and here,

We

Do

Science.

But numbers are cold storytellers.

A recitation of facts in the chill air.

There is no romance in dopamine.

There is only love in it’s reception.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Paige Graffunder

Paige is a published author and a cannabis industry professional in Seattle. She is also a contributor to several local publications around the city, focused on interpersonal interactions, poetry, and social commentary.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.