Poets logo

perfect

inspired by maia

By pjPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I need to Stop wearing those awful ripped jeans and that lipstick like a whore with double D implants. I only get one chance i need to stop living like a cat with 9 lives. I need to stop committing myself to songs and stories and spoken slam in a world where degrees and PHDs mean more than the need for poetry. My mother shouts "STOP chewing on your nails no wonder you've never attracted any males, why do you do that, do you like the taste ? Are they sweet ? You can't eat sweets you're ruining your teeth like you're ruining your life. My teeth are perfect. Clean and pristine. They gleam like the golden halo above my perfect conditioned hair." I guess my mother doesn't need sugar, she is above sugar.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.