Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

perchè?

A RubyRed Original Poem

By Ruby RedPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
perchè?
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

i did this.

and i know she will never forgive me.

i should feel it now

it should be here

strangling

and i should fight it.

but instead it is quiet,

and the voices that are my own are hiding beneath my flesh.

they do not even try to tear away their prison.

the demons dare not remove the precious hinges of their power

or lest they escape and i am free forever.

so they internalise

poking my heart

drooling over the pain of every gunshot

and yet i cannot make it stop.

because how do you complain from the noise

when there is none?

and it is only myself and the soft tapping of fate

carefully mocking me

and the words i crafted so elegantly,

infused with the miniscule endlessness of pain and loss and hate.

they hover above me and i cannot snatch at them

for fear i am trapped forever.

and yet the softness of the silence does comfort me

with no further purpose than to mock my bleeding fingers

and flailing arms

and fear of the gunshots.

it mocks my villainous

my corrupt

wicked

horrible

horrible

words

and the life they gave me.

but only from a distance

since everything it needs

everything i know will rot my soul

and blitz and blend my heart

is within me.

i did this.

and i know i will never forgive myself.

...

social commentaryslam poetryMental HealthFree Verse

About the Creator

Ruby Red

"All the world's a stage,

And all the men and women merely players:

They have their exits and their entrances;

And one man in his time plays many parts."

- William Shakespeare

Consider this a doorway to my heart and soul. 🌱

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Ruby Red is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Ruby RedWritten by Ruby Red

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.