Poets logo

Penny Candy Paradise

Sugary Snacks

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a month ago 1 min read
12
Penny Candy Paradise
Photo by Jose Antonio Gallego Vázquez on Unsplash

hinged at the neck

with a treat for a tongue

Goodness in a speck

to be had, one by one

cheery characters to offer a treat

more than just fun

but a pleasure to eat

if you’re a good girl or boy

and do as your mama says

better than any toy

she may give you some pez

childhood memories last

and you may want to share

with these blasts from the past

anytime, anywhere

FamilyFor Fun
12

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    I remember eating Pez but the dispensers kept breaking on me. Good work.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I have no idea what these are but I loved your poem!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Sweet!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    THis brought back some fun memories! I loved Pez and had a fair collection of dispensers.

  • I always had you pezzed as a Peg person, Kelli. Wait, what did I just say? Yep, always a joy--except for having to load them all the time. That was kind of a pain.

  • Alyssa Nicoleabout a month ago

    Pez is one of my favorites! This is a great poem!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    I remember the penny-candy. It was such a treat when we were given a quarter to pick what we wanted. Well done.

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    I loved Pez! Such a fun piece that brought back some great memories!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    I can relate to this poem 🥰

  • ROCK about a month ago

    PEZ! I collected them for awhile; we still have a few! Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.