Poets logo

Penelope

A poem.

By David HoskinsPublished 7 years ago 1 min read

Where do you come back?

All I see are doors and shores.

I can't see myself reflected

In your face anymore--

And that scares me.

It's all searching and finding

Everything But You.

It's all bleeding lists and

Disgusted faces and hands

Pushing me toward

Everything in the World

Else.

I'm leaking. Slowly.

Every Version of your Face

and Voice slips from me

And I fear what might fill

the Space left when

Everything I Know

of You is gone.

Can you come back

And be with me

Just a little?

Just so I know

Not to be Afraid?

I keep looking for You

Like I lost you in the Store

as a Child.

Nothing on the shelves is the Same

Without You to help me see and

Find it.

There is nothing to distinguish without

Your Smiles and Frowns.

All other Faces are just Faces.

Just a chart of ways I want to see You.

I know what to expect when you come back.

I've seen it enough times in these doors

And on these Shores where

They tell me to Wait.

That's as far as I can go

On One-One Hundredth

Of a Dollar.

Tickets Punched and

Lines Scratched Out

But no You.

Money would not

Have brought you

back anyway. But

it would be Something

to count as I waited.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    David HoskinsWritten by David Hoskins

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.