Poets logo

Pen and Perfection

A creative's worst nightmare

By Sierra MafieldPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
32
Pen and Perfection
Photo by David Pennington on Unsplash

You have fifty different beginnings

but no plot to end.

So your stories are swallowed up

in the mentality that’s never had friends.

Perfection is your enemy but it loves to shimmer,

distracting you from finishing what you never start.

The shine keeps the simplest secret from you:

even shitty paintings are still art.

First, you imagine the pinball machine and the foundation,

then the shatters of the past that once made you complete.

Next, you see the man who watches his love forget his name.

But your pen never touches any story; they’re gone before you hit delete.

You should know by now that writing anything at all

is better than writing none.

The more you get out of the train you follow

the clearer your thoughts soon become.

You’re so afraid of failing them all that

you’re incapable of locking in one’s success.

The battlefield inside your mind is now

your loudest turmoiled mess.

What happens when you finish a story?

It could be that everyone hates what you’ve done.

But isn’t that better than hating

what you never let yourself become?

Imagine what joy in your life will look like

when you stop trying to force control.

Creativity is candor’s mouthpiece.

And creativity is the only freedom for your soul.

sad poetry
32

About the Creator

Sierra Mafield

I don't really know how to write but I do it a lot. And no, I don't have any credibility.

sierramafield.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    I enjoyed reading this piece, well done! I subscribed to you! I am just starting out and would very much like if you have time to read some of my work and if you like it please subscribe! I look forward to reading more of your work!

  • Papo gas2 years ago

    👏👏👏

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    First, stay out of my head! ;) Next, I really did appreciate and like this one! I sometimes wonder if I am sabotaging myself with my attitude and foibles. Best thing to do is plow through : “You can always edit a bad page. You can't edit a blank page.” - Jodi Picoult

  • Annie Edwards 2 years ago

    This is beautiful ♥️♥️♥️

  • Beautiful work. Keep up the amazing work great job!! BOL have a great morning!!

  • Chezney Martin2 years ago

    Captures so much in so little, great writing!

  • Suman Sridhar2 years ago

    Excellent poem! Perfection is paralyzing.

  • Amystic2 years ago

    I loved it your blessed in writing love. :)

  • MANOJ G KURUP2 years ago

    I like it. What I feel is that , the readers must understand what you are trying to tell them . Perfection is not always possible.

  • Like it

  • Pam Reeder2 years ago

    Bravo! So well done and perfectly expressed! I needed to see this today!

  • Sydney Davis2 years ago

    My exact personal feelings for quite a while now. I've never started so I can't fail, and therefore I never do what I really want to do: write. Thank you for the inspiration to write something tonight <3

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Really great message, fantastic job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.