Poets logo

Peak

Hold Me There and Don’t Let Go

By CJPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

You were alone damaged and broken

Like a hole the wall of the house that kept my sanity.

We broke together on that treacherous day

that day had left us both hanging.

You and I we fell from the ruins

Departed but never alone

I swore I’d protect you until each snowflake looks alike

Until the frigid North no longer sees snow.

I felt strong because of you, yet weak in your presence

I felt I could heal you although my fingertips couldn’t touch you

It felt like enough until that dreaded day

When God decided to take you away.

Time slowed down as you fell off that peak

The peak I helped you climb

My hands and knees were crimson with blood ad I slid down trying to save you

I caught on a branch that wasnt supposed to help me

We were supposed to fall to our deaths together

But there I dangle almost from God’s hand

Watching you disappear for what seemed like forever.

Give me a reason to live

And maybe ill stop dying

Give me a boat to help me float

Or maybe the strength to stop crying

I’m screaming now with my lungs on fire

A warmth that burns down my soul

I have no choice now but to remember, dear friend

The warmth you gave me back then.

I remember the late nights we have spent

I thought your hand would never leave mine.

We wove a quilt with our stitches intertwined

Each one coated in the summer of love.

The threads were matte and frail

Now, frayed as it is you’ve kept me warm

And now as you pass away what was you and I will never die.

I’ll hold you close to me and cry the river that catches you

Like the day you won my heart.

You stood there sobbing painfully

I wanted to help but had no clue where to start.

So now here I am at the highest peak

at the paragon of my existence.

But where’s the glory to be won when I’ve lost you to the bottom.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

CJ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.