Poets logo

Patient

Musings From A Hospital

By Lauren Tyler ScottPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

I grieved two uncles in January

And in February the family dog

Come March I lost my patience

And in April became a patient myself

An unexplainable infection, they said

Demanding of my flesh

I watched my body turn shades it hadn’t before

Shades it shouldn’t

As they urged me to accept I may never be satisfied with a cause

Black

Turn gray

Turn pale white

Turn pink

Progress, they say

You look so good, they say

I suppose this is humor I’m unfamiliar with

Because as I lay

And lay

And lay

In a stiff mechanical cot that I beseech no body be sentenced to

I think of my flesh

The piece that is now missing

The piece that might’ve killed me

The piece that I think I still want back

A feeble price to pay, I know, for further uncounted years

Not even a pound of flesh

But that never stopped a mind from its questioning

I figured I am too young to discover I’m mortal

Though time wishes to drive such lessons home

So now with less loved ones in the world

With less of me in the world

I find out how strong I am

Cut me open and reveal my healthy shades

Pink was my favorite color as a child

Pink is the shade, they say, that now assures I survived

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Lauren Tyler Scott

Writer, typically of songs.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lauren Tyler ScottWritten by Lauren Tyler Scott

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.