Poets logo

Path 11: External

The healing we do outside ourselves

By Noah RodriguezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Path 11: External
Photo by Simon Migaj on Unsplash

A mirror eliminates the inconvenience

of the eyes’ positions

rotated to look outside boney holes.

There I am

skin covering muscle, bone, and adipose tissue

ducts and tendons and other rather temporary entities.

Injuries I have sustained and repaired with time.

There I am, outside the mirror this time.

A house, or an apartment

the others I dance with

the person and/or people I have loved

the smog that hangs overhead

or the wind that gently clears the air.

There I am,

The cigarettes I’ve smoked and passed on

the ripened fruits I’ve consumed on a balcony

the pills I’ve swallowed with a swig of water

the external poisons I have endured as a price of living

I know what I said

about inconvenient eyes that can’t look at the face they are set in.

But I am in pieces

present in places

many miles away from my body.

The greater inconvenience is discovering

where.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Noah Rodriguez

A multiracial gay med student/writer and NYC native. I believe identity is something that is creatively built, discovered, shared, and transformed, and healing can come from that.

If you like what I write, follow me on twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Noah Rodriguez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.