Poets logo

"Passively-Aggressive"

An "Inverse" Poem

By Adrianne KirkseyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
"Passively-Aggressive"
Photo by Etty Fidele on Unsplash

"Read it from the bottom to the top."

They label me passive-aggressive.

Put me in a box to rot.-

They label me passive-aggressive,

But in reality, I AM NOT!-

It took many years to get here.

Now that I have ascended,-

They label me passive-aggressive.

And I just don't get it.-

My claims of mistreatment fall on death ears.-

They laughed at my pain,

and smiled at my tears.-

Situations became mundane.-

Refuted my feelings,

Called me insane.-

Then expected me not to complain.-

Because, "Who do I think I am?"

To think I shouldn't suffer neglect.-

"Who do I think I am?"

To think I deserve respect!-

This is what they think.

This is what they say.

I deal with this abuse,

Damn near everyday.

They say I'm passive-aggressive,

When I speak my mind.-

They say I'm passive-aggressive

When I try to find peace of mind.-

They say I'm passive-aggressive,

this is the label they put on my head.-

They say I'm passive-aggressive;

I'd be better off,

Dead.-

They say I'm passive-aggressive!

I wouldn't let them bully me.-

They say I'm passive-aggressive,

"I JUST BELIEVE IN ME!"

They say I'm passive-aggressive.

Said I should not feel slighted.

They say I'm passive aggressive,

When I'm being GASLIGHTED.-AK

Stream of Consciousness
2

About the Creator

Adrianne Kirksey

"TURN YOUR PAIN INTO PAPER"

I am just a young grandmother with an old soul.

My goal is to create generational wealth for my family by doing something I love!

Victor's Daughter- AK

"The Writer of all Wrongs"

Please Like, Share, or Subscribe!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brannan K.3 months ago

    This was a hard challenge. Excellent job knocking it out of the park!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.