Poets logo

Part 2: Pain.

Her side.

By Faith MckiePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
    Part 2: Pain.
Photo by Tammy Gann on Unsplash

Strawberry wine.

Its warmth, so divine.

Another few swallows,

And she knows she'll be fine....

At least till her sorrows,

and her mind would combine,

sorting the pieces that made up her life.

No money.

No job.

"Please take me, mom."

I would ask in despair.

"No more. Enough!"

I'd heard all I could bear.

"Not today."

"Not hiring."

Such dissapointment,

it was seemingly everywhere!

Her phone made a "buzz."

A message was left.

Bottle half empty in her hands -

She just stared.

Another "buzz" came through -

the first message now had a pair:

"Let's go on a playdate."

is what it said.

"I want you to meet someone - he's special, and he cares."

Sadness struck as I realized right there:

"No one can fix me, I can't be repaired."

....I had to be fair.

Accepting the offer so my baby could play -

I was so scared I would fuck up the next day.

I downed the rest of my bottle

Until all the pain

Went away.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Faith Mckie

I have 5 children as we are a mixed family. I take my time in life while I figure out who I am. I love to write, I love to play guitar, play video games, and I am in college for my associates in Business.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Faith MckieWritten by Faith Mckie

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.