Poets logo

Paper Doll

Awash in the Sea of Anonymity

By Veronica ColdironPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
14
Parvae Pupa

Paper doll floating

In the unforgiving sea,

Smiling to have peace

For all infinity.

Soft white gauze on her

Tiny pulp frame,

Floating on the water,

Just a white paper flame.

Tossed upon an ocean

Of the world’s cruelty,

She’s breathing up her last

For all the world to see.

Never clothed in beauty,

Just a little paper doll,

Unnoticed for her size

Of just a few inches tall.

Not a pretty plastic face,

But one of ghostly white,

Shining on a tidal pool

That moves her through the night.

Pulled and pushed along

By the unrelenting squall,

No hope of someone loving…

Just a tiny paper doll

sad poetry
14

About the Creator

Veronica Coldiron

I'm a mild-mannered project accountant by day, a free-spirited writer, artist, singer/songwriter the rest of the time. Let's subscribe to each other! I'm excited to be in a community of writers and I'm looking forward to making friends!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Cole5 days ago

    💕

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    I thought porcelain dolls were fragile, I couldn’t imagine trying to preserve a paper doll. Life is just too rough for something so precious-as your poem points out <3.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Wow, this was heartbreakingly beautiful! It felt tragic but had this pull to it that only drew me in further! Great use of imagery and metaphor!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    What gorgeous language in this! I loved the line, "just a white paper flame." Beautiful, haunting poetry :)

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is beautiful.

  • This was sad but hauntingly beautiful! I loved it so much! 💖

  • Loads of pertinent themes wonderfully expressed

  • Penny Fuller2 years ago

    Lost things floating on the water- that's the same theme I went for in mine! I loved it. My favorite line was: "shining on a tidal pool that moves her through the night." Great specificity here.

  • Sooji Fyrd2 years ago

    I love this! The beat and completion of the rhyme is satisfying and poem feels "whole" ... I noticed you called it "a little more traditional" but it is not at all boring, I'm fan of this one! And the little paper doll lost on the water is a haunting image. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.