Poets logo

From the Outside

For Women With Cancer... from the Sidelines

By Veronica ColdironPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
7

From the outside I have seen you,

An average gal, I guessed.

Nothing remarkably different

About the way you spoke or dressed.

In fact, from where I stood sometimes

It didn’t even show,

The pain that you’d been feeling

The hardships you had known.

To think that you had cancer,

Endured such suffering

To think of all the pinned up anger

You must’ve been buffering,

It breaks my heart wide open

Reaches right inside of me

But mends my spirit back again,

Opens up my eyes to see

That though the world may knock us out

Laying down is our own choice.

We choose to fight or fail, my friend,

To laugh or cry… rejoice.

I’ve heard the others speak of you,

A sob caught in their throat,

They talk of your brave countenance

The inspiration you evoked.

Whenever I had come to call,

I wondered if you could guess

How many lives you’ve touched out there

With your gentle stalwartness.

Mother Theresa said one time

That God puts burdens such

That the worthy ones shall bear them…

That’s why he trusted her so much.

From the outside looking in I’ve seen

A life that’s full of light

Touching others with such ease

It makes the rest of us feel slight.

If we lead by our example,

Then I wanted you to know

That though our paths have rarely crossed

Your strength has touched me so.

It takes great strength to stand up strong

When you really want to fall

To consider your effect on others

When it shouldn’t matter to you at all.

From the outside I have wondered

How someone I’ve rarely met

Could change my take on life so much

Help me forget regret.

So I wrote this poem with you in mind

Because I cherish you my friend,

Even though I’m just a stranger,

On the outside… looking in.

the end

inspirational
7

About the Creator

Veronica Coldiron

I'm a mild-mannered project accountant by day, a free-spirited writer, artist, singer/songwriter the rest of the time. Let's subscribe to each other! I'm excited to be in a community of writers and I'm looking forward to making friends!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Colea day ago

    So touching and beautiful, Veronica! 💓x

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Beautiful! Your friend is lucky to have you.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This was really heartfelt and touching, and you expressed all the emotions with such care. My MIL passed away from cancer after fighting for many years. Thank you for sharing.

  • Intense and heartfelt m, great words

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This means a lot. I lost a dear friend last year, and a close family member just went through treatment. Thank you. This is beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.