Poets logo

Paper Doll Heart

This poem is about my best friend in high school. She later developed a drug problem.

By Amanda ZylstraPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

Paper dolls blown away in the wind.

We used to travel this road together.

I thought our friendship was unbreakable.

I told you things no one else knows.

Paper dolls left out in the rain.

We bonded over witchcraft and blood rituals.

You are my blood sister.

We became instant friends at someone else’s party.

You were weird like me and we had the same idols.

We both loved Courtney Love and were outside of the groups our peers had divided themselves into.

We walked around the trailer park smoking underage cigarettes and wearing miniskirts.

We worshipped insects and had inside jokes no one else understand.

We created this special language that we were both fluent in.

You were Daria, I was Jane.

We talked all night and slept all day.

You were my best friend and the closest person to me.

You were the sister I never had and always wanted.

My love for you was unconditional.

Four years later and you were still my best friend.

Then you discovered Heroin.

We grew apart in different directions.

We were no longer paper dolls dancing together in the wind.

You were Courtney Love.

Drugs meant more to you than life.

I didn’t realize how much drugs were destroying you until it was too late.

You stopped paying rent.

You got kicked out of your apartment.

I was the one to take you in.

You slept next to me in bed, yet felt a million miles away.

Something had changed inside you.

You were not the person I once knew.

My Siamese cat, Athena did not want you in our space.

You were always weird about cats.

I never understood why.

My cat saw right through you.

She knew it was a bad idea for us to take you in.

She saw things I was blind to.

You started wearing my clothing without asking.

Your boyfriend stole books and money from me.

I had to kick you out.

It broke my heart.

I had to do what was right, which was not to enable you and allow you to take advantage of me.

We cut out paper dolls like snowflakes.

We played in the rain together in bathing suits.

But you were no longer this person.

Drugs made you different.

Check out my Author Page on Facebook!

Check out my Poetry!

Check out my Music Articles!

Check out my Beauty Articles!

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Zylstra

Cat Lover, Poetry Writer, Tea Drinker, Skincare and Beauty Product Obsessed. Check out my poetry collection "Passing Skeletons" available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.