Poets logo

Paper Butterflies

A poem about a liberty blossomed from failure. 🌱🦋

By Gina C.Published about a year ago Updated 11 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - April 2022
46
Photo courtesy of Shutterstock

There was an echo when

the train came…

and the earth stood still to listen to

their names…

and below the risen seats of pharaohs,

my heart broke in their shadows,

as bells of victory and triumph for them

rang.

*

Maybe I

just missed the doorway,

as callings for our souls were being

made;

maybe I

was somewhere far away and dreaming -

never seeing how

(I maybe)

was not free enough this time,

to stay.

*

Paper butterflies don’t fly,

(but maybe)

they’ll still remind you

of the spring,

and as I

decorate your kitchen…

maybe you’ll still

listen to me as I sing.

*

I waited while

they read me;

and like mosaic tiles,

they hung up all my PIECES to be seen;

only to never truly see me

for what I

<collectively>

could have been if only I’d

been sewn together with their seams.

*

And maybe my

words weren’t nearly deep enough,

(like oceans)

that roar with mystery, divine;

and maybe my

liberty of syntax wasn’t steep enough;

maybe I blurred my

“love at first sight” storyline.

And there was always maybe…

but as I wrote I thought that maybe I

had frozen for them that first moment

when baby I first saw your

lovely outline (for the first time)

in the sky.

*

Paper butterflies don’t fly,

(but maybe)

they’ll still make you

look outside,

and as my

painted colors fade into the sunlight…

maybe you’ll still

remember me tonight.

*

I wondered how

I lost them

in a dipping sea of love, sweet love,

(through words);

I was so sure

I was so certain I had captured

“happily ever after”

and the glow of life, transferred…

between two beings that after all that time

had come together,

(for forever)

in paradigms, reheard.

*

And maybe my

direction was too hallow,

maybe I *followed* their

instruction all too closely, to a "T",

maybe what they really wanted

was a single stone thrown and

deviated

from the path I wandered happily.

But I was thinking, maybe:

sometimes simplicity...

can be key to finding

ridiculously beautiful

rhythmic eternity,

and as I wandered I did stumble...

on serendipity,

and I thought that I'd discovered

unfiltered liberty.

*

And paper butterflies don’t fly,

(but maybe)

they’ll still make you

in my direction, sway;

and as my

paper wings look lovely by your window sill,

maybe you’ll still

keep me around to stay.

*

I contemplated changing

and rearranging all my

words to sound like theirs;

I thought maybe I wasn’t

well-versed enough to be

truly noticed by their glares.

But as I crumbled all my treasures…

like dust and feathers,

my pieces floated in the air -

and like a lotus, bloomed before me

and before I knew it,

I was right back to where…

I’d started,

I was there.

*

And maybe I am meant to be

a paper butterfly

that brightens up your room;

maybe I’ll be free one day

but for now I’ll sleep in my cocoon.

And I can be a "happily ever after",

(having blossomed from disaster)

leaving a piece of me behind

that lingers...like perfume.

*

And paper butterflies don’t fly

(but maybe)

they’ll still catch the glitter

(in your eyes),

and as my

paper wings reflect the daylight

maybe you will know

I’m somehow free inside,

tonight.

*

-Gina C.🧚‍♀️✨

***

Author's Note: I wrote this poem after having poured my heart and soul into something and then receiving a less-than-desired outcome. If you read closely enough, you can probably figure out what I'm talking about. :)

I always do my best to be an optimist in life, and after the initial heartache, I was able to break the hold of darkness and become free again.

I'm not sure at what point I started doing it, but I very much enjoy ending my poems on high, uplifting notes. 💫

***

This poem is part of my Signature collection, which is rich in rhyme, very lyrical, quite expansive, and often full of notable, magical elements. If you are interested in reading more poems from this collection, try this one:

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️

I'd be over the moon if we could support each other! I am an active member on the Vocal Discord Server, as well as the Vocal + Assist, Great Incantations, The Vocal Social Society, The Vocal Creators Lounge, and The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Facebook groups. Posting your work there is the best way for me to support you! :) ❤️

inspirational
46

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)9 months ago

    Wow, Amazing, and I'm sorry for just now reading this💖😊Congratulations💖🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • MANOJ K 9 months ago

    Great thank u for give me wonderful reading experience keep it up give suggestions my posts and subscribe me !! HAVE A WONDER FUL DAY

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Are we not lucky to be able to pour it all out here, for support and love and hope and blessings and heartfelt caring. Better always comes when we least expect it. Fly on butterfly wings my dear.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I was entranced from the beginning and wished I could have been there as support.

  • I'm so sorry my dear Red Partner. I know how it feels to give something your all and not get what you want in return. I'm so glad you decided to write this beautiful poem to help you deal with it. I loved that the ending was very uploading!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing your heart with us!

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    Wow, I really enjoyed this. So many great lines. I loved this one section, read it like three times haha “ words weren’t nearly deep enough, (like oceans) that roar with mystery, divine; and maybe my liberty of syntax wasn’t steep enough; maybe I blurred my “love at first sight” storyline.”

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Like a fine wine, this poem is to be enjoyed at your own pace, there's so many levels of meaning. You painted a lovely picture, and I felt the warmth in my heart at the end. ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Paper butterflies, such a beautiful metaphor. Love the optimism at the end. Well done.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Gina, your work is always...just sublime. I hate sounding like a broken record or saying that it becomes meaningless. But, it's true. I am sorry you've gone through some stuff. I hope you are doing better... The hopeful and uplifting end was lovely! I always love the fact that we get wonderful pieces from you, that has been meticulously, almost scientifically put together, without losing their deep emotions. Then we get the author's notes, your little insights that just bring it all together and add greater weight and context. What I guess I'm saying is - loved it! lol. Mumbling over!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    The imagery and design of this piece is so rare and to see it done well is rarer still. I lost myself in the delicacy of this. The brightness at the end felt liberating. Beautifully done.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Wow! your ability to add so much rich, meaningful content into one piece is a talent. It reminds about listening to a song that I don't want to end. Great Job!

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Wow!!! Stunning, and uplifting indeed! Love this and you! 💕

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    simple beautiful chaos - that was brilliant!

  • Diara Alvarado about a year ago

    Love your poetry.

  • Kaliyah Myersabout a year ago

    This was very beautiful! I really enjoyed reading your poem, very relatable and cinematic. 🥰

  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    Beautifully written. I love how the poem gives a ray of hope at the end.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I love the image of paper butterflies <3 and that you ended this with hope. Very lovely :)

  • Jodi Nichollsabout a year ago

    This is beautiful. Thank you for sharing ❤️

  • BEER BRANDabout a year ago

    "Paper butterflies" nice....

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.