Poets logo

Pantoum for First Pairing

Or, 'The Jolly Virtues of a Magical Late-Night (Ever-So-Slightly-Delayed)Train Ride for the Soul-Damaged Roustabout'.

By Conor DarrallPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
13

(For my Jo - 06/03/22)

-----

There never is a time to lose your heart,

And loneliness had tempered me anew

So many mis-aimed chances let depart

Lost phosphorescence in a placid blue

*

And loneliness had tempered me anew

The break-up fury now long-since forgot

Lost phosphorescence in a placid blue

In drunken haze forgetting Why or What

*

The break-up fury now long-since forgot

With eagerness to taste life while it's fresh

In drunken haze forgetting why or what

I gorged myself on all sins of the flesh.

*

With eagerness to taste life while it's fresh

My whoring reached a ne'er before seen scale

I gorged myself on all sins of the flesh

The buffet fare increasingly grown stale

*

My whoring reached a ne'er before seen scale

Damp features melded, sweaty in the night

The buffet fare increasingly grown stale

A vampire soul that shunned self-mirror's sight

*

Damp features melded, sweaty in the night

Through pinprick eyes that glared spite back at me

A vampire soul that shunned self-mirror's sight

The Hogarth paintings spoke my eulogy.

*

With pinprick eyes that glared spite back at me,

I bluffed a smile to cover feelings torn

The Hogarth paintings spoke my eulogy

Though to the world at large I was reborn.

*

I bluffed a smile to cover feelings torn,

Society with friends I courted well,

Though to the world at large I was reborn,

But wandering in the night-lands still I'd dwell.

*

Society with friends I courted well,

Faked fun at first, that soon came genuine

But wandering in the night-lands still I'd dwell,

On how to really live this life of mine.

*

Faked fun at first, that soon came genuine,

One night in town, I chatted with a friend,

On how to really live this life of mine,

She said the trick was never to pretend.

*

One night in town, I chatted with a friend,

Myfanwy who had helped me look at flats,

She said the trick was never to pretend,

(She is the queen of beer-and-giggle chats)

*

Myfanwy who had helped me look at flats,

Restored of smiles, rekindled and new-hoped,

She IS the queen of beer-and-giggle chats,

Bid me adieu, as homeward bound I loped.

*

Restored of smiles, rekindled and new-hoped.

The frozen night with smells of frost and rain,

Bid me adieu, as homeward bound I loped,

Whistling through the streets to catch my train.

*

The frozen night with smells of frost and rain,

A silent platform, timeless and moon-kissed,

Whistling through the streets to catch my train,

I daydreamed and the schedule I had missed.

*

A silent platform, timeless and moon-kissed,

By orange lamps, my new hope shone the brightest

I daydreamed and the schedule I had missed,

But truth be told I cared not in the slightest.

*

By orange lamps, my new hope shone the brightest

My life a mess, and full of dull travails

But truth be told I cared not in the slightest,

The silence rent with screech of frozen rails.

*

My life a mess, and full of dull travails,

I found that I had come alive once more,

The silence rent with screech of frozen rails,

And smiling now, I hurried through the doors.

*

I found that I had come alive once more,

Prepared to take my chance with something new.

And smiling now, I hurried through the doors,

I fell into my seat across from you.

*

Prepared to take my chance with something new,

And unaware that Fate loves to surprise,

I fell into my seat across from you,

To be transfixed in whole by witchcraft eyes.

*

And unaware that Fate loves to surprise,

And new-resolved to join again life's dance,

To be transfixed in whole by witchcraft eyes,

Meant this poor fucker didn't stand a chance.

*

And new-resolved to join again life's dance,

Perhaps you knew that playing with life's Fate,

Meant this poor fucker never stood a chance

In silent carriage, with the hour so late.

*

Perhaps you knew that playing with life's Fate,

And courting intrigue with the midnight ghosts

In silent carriage with the hour so late,

Could disarm me from any quick riposte?

*

And courting intrigue with the midnight ghosts,

I fell bewitched, insensible that you,

Could disarm me from any quick riposte,

To take me by the hand to pathways new.

*

I fell bewitched, insensible that you,

In standing now to leave, dissolving chance,

To take me by the hand to pathways new,

Could leave me broken-hearted with a glance.

*

In standing now to leave, dissolving chance,

I wondered that our meeting cut so deep,

Could leave me broken-hearted with a glance,

And I just newly-surfaced from the deep.

*

I wondered that our meeting cut so deep.

I vowed to follow that which Fate intends.

And I just newly-surfaced from the deep!

You handed me your card to make amends,

*

I vowed to follow that which Fate intends,

And ever-after ponder all my life,

You handed me your card to make amends,

And later gave your hand to be my wife.

*

And ever after ponder all my life,

Fate's stare became a smile, became a kiss,

And later gave your hand to be my wife,

That old life gone, and never will I miss.

*

Fate's stare became a smile, became a kiss,

There never is a time to lose your heart,

That old life gone, and never will I miss,

So many mis-aimed chances let depart.

——————

(This was written as part of a duel with Dane BH where we both agreed to write a complex poem using repitition of form. This Pantoum is my response. The Pantoum is a devilish poetic form, and the author shall be taking a small break to live in a padded cell until he can escape the logic-loop this challenge created in his brain)

love poems
13

About the Creator

Conor Darrall

Short-stories, poetry and random scribblings. Irish traditional musician, sword student, draoi and strange egg. Bipolar/ADD. Currently querying my novel 'The Forgotten 47' - @conordarrall / www.conordarrall.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.