Poets logo

Painted Smile

.

By Lilo DallasPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Painted Smile
Photo by Gabriel Porras on Unsplash

Gazing at my reflection I don’t know me at all

Who is this staring back this makeshift empty doll

My eyes seem empty void of life as if its drained away

Trapped in this bond , bound by vows forcing me to stay

All I knew has been forgotten lost or passed on

Alone I curl within the shadows until the break of dawn

Invisible chains link me to this morbid way of life

I do as I am commanded with heart filled with strife

Light from smiles of my born push me every day

Ensuring they never get placed within the fray

With a smile, I push on hiding the eternal fear

I cry within the shower so they will never hear

With a breath I clear my mind and paint a smile on

Falsified happiness to hide just how far gone

Beer in hand food is served life is as it should be

Nobody will ever know that I’m not happy

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lilo Dallas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.