Poets logo

Pain Remains

The unbecoming

By Anna TorresPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
Pain Remains
Photo by Free Walking Tour Salzburg on Unsplash

Shadows fall, pain remains. Darkness lies, we’ve gone insane. This internal war isn’t fought with bloodshed. Its mastermind is all I’ve never said. I try to extract the truth but only pain remains. Is starting over again an option? I’ve seen enough to want to try again. Banish these evil thoughts, kill them all. Exhume and erase me, I can’t go on. Collapsed thoughts pushing me into the ether. I’ve looked for signs of an arrival sent from the skies. But no saint or hero will deliver me unto myself. I challenge the power you have over me. A spectacle in shackles with no right to grieve. The splinters of me lay splattered on the floor. Broken spirits are all that’s left behind. The ground is neutral but it’s me I can’t seem to find. I close my eyes and let myself unravel. Unwind into the unbecoming. Bending radical laws into self-soothing techniques. Restoring that which is minimal. Reconstructing that which is gone. The other versions of me prevail. They aren’t withered down by weather and time. I pirouette constantly and continue to rotate without purpose. I’ve live to die just to die everyday. Dead inside, there is nothing left to mourn. If I could extract the truth, I would but only pain remains. Why wake just to watch the rise and fall of everyday? I let the fickleness of monstrous deities liquify me. I allow the weight of the sky to simply fall down on me. The shadows create their own storylines while I follow the same outcome. The indecisiveness of left versus right. The lack of conviction between day and night. Resistance has become surrender, crushing the singularity I am under. Doomed reality giving birth to an apathetic future. This timeline is useless. Riddled with pain and stricken by vanity. It will all come to dust, one way or another. They’re out there somewhere, the other variants of me trying their best. It’s a world where I simply could care less. I’ve tried to extract myself but only pain remains

sad poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.