Poets logo

Paddling in Place

Going nowhere fast

By Sarah DanaherPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Paddling in Place
Photo by Danny Nee on Unsplash

No matter how fast I paddle

I seem to go nowhere

I literally just stay in the same place

Or go backward from here

The current is strong

I cannot overcome it

Everything inside me just keeps screaming

All the effort in the world

Cannot help me here

I paddle but I do not go anywhere

I try to push forward to no avail

All I do is float backward from here

Just so frustrating from paddling in place

Give it my best effort and no better place

But I just keep paddling

And find the weakness in the current

So, I can move to a better place

inspirationalnature poetry

About the Creator

Sarah Danaher

I enjoy writing for fun. I like to write for several genres including fantasy, poetry, and dystopian, but I am open to trying other genres too. It has been a source of stress relief from my busy life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Suze Kay6 months ago

    Beautiful words for a frustrating and relatable feeling!!

  • Test6 months ago

    Fantastic metaphor and really enjoyed the rhythmic quality to your piece -beautifully done 🤍 Also the idea of finding a safer place, love that!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad6 months ago

    Well done. It’s the perfect metaphor for life. All we can do is keep trying to paddle forward and find a weakness in the current, hoping that we don’t move backward in the process.

  • Matthew Fromm9 months ago

    Very on point for my general vibes tonight. Glad I found this!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Oh, so relatable! Very well done!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was such a great metaphor and outstanding motivational piece. Always keep trying! Great poem!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nicely done, and relatable.

SDWritten by Sarah Danaher

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.