Poets logo

Packing Up the House

A journey through my memory

By Suze KayPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
28
Packing Up the House
Photo by Harmen Jelle van Mourik on Unsplash

The baby teeth rattling in a bedside table, kept for love or superstition.

The puckered quilt that held the dream where Mom disappeared.

The tumble down those stairs, ending sharp with the taste of blood.

The wasps crawling on a cluster of fat Concord grapes, so ripe they drip.

The seal bark cough of my brother, two, ringing off the porcelain tub, shower running hot enough to scald, air thick with steam and prayer.

The fox with a lady’s scream in the woods behind the house, night after night.

The tall pine that swung with wind, which I imagined falling over us, and the nest of vultures in its crown.

The rabid bat in the master bath, battering itself against the mirror.

The piano, now dusty, and the song I never put to paper.

The cupboard under the stairs, which held the sour smell of particle board and my last journal laying fallow.

The neighbor’s puppy teething on my new dress, punching holes like a moth.

The crayon graffiti uncovered by a lifted couch, too late now to ground the culprit.

And the night the green trees froze and snapped like gunshots over the still marsh.

Things once lost are found, and placed in boxes to be lost again.

Some of it we’ll leave behind.

social commentarylist
28

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor3 months ago

    Suze - Sorry to add a 'Q'...never my intent to disrespect.Your stories are always reach-back to me. May I introduce my Brother to you featured in 'Twins'...you may relate. j.in.l.a.

  • Test5 months ago

    Wow this hit me really hard. I still mourn my childhood home (we lost it in the 2008 crash) but also have complicated feelings about other things surrounding it. This does such a great job at capturing that mix of feelings.

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    It kept me focused from A til Z, not to miss a detail. Very well-written! I like how you retrieved all these memories and then put them back in a box.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    This was really beautiful Suze! The imagery you used which painted such beautiful glimpses into lives and memories for the family! Great work!

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    This touched my heart! How incredibly relatable and written stunningly. ❤️

  • Incredible piece 🎉✨💖👌📝Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉

  • I don't know about everyone else, but you could have gone on longer. We were traveling with you. What a great piece. Congratulations

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Oh my what imagery and word choice! Congrats on Top Story! 😍

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    So relatable. Can't take everything with you. So beautifully written, and a congrats on Top Story!

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Congratulations! 🎉

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    I was just going to echo Naomi's words, that's the feeling I got. Like looking at things and holding on to some that matter and still have an important place and letting go of the things that you don't need to keep. Gorgeous writing as always, Suze! Congrats on a beautiful Top Story!

  • Wonderful words, and some great observations

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I find this list so interesting, because it ranges from unfortunate events to the mundane and uneventful… but nothing joyous. To me, it doesn’t feel like a nostalgic piece. It feels like recalling things that once mattered, but discarding that which matters little now… and keeping what shaped you into who you are today.

  • The piano, now dusty, and the song I never put to paper. This line kinda hit me so hard! I loved your poem!

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    You're writing is spellbinding, it flows so effortlessly

  • Ian Read9 months ago

    This was a sweet poem that hit me straight in the feels. Awesome job!

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    This is breathtaking and steeped in nostalgia. Really lovely job capturing the feeling of leaving your childhood behind. "Things once lost are found, and placed in boxes to be lost again." What a powerful line. Amazing work, Suze

  • Dean F. Hardy9 months ago

    Lived that sickly nostalgia with you as I read this. Which points to its quality of execution. Lovely piece, Suze.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.