Poets logo

Oxygenated [Part 2]

Catharsis as Still Water

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - October 2023
42
Oxygenated [Part 2]
Photo by Tyler Lillico on Unsplash

Let me sink into still water, at last,

moisture as the ocean’s fury pooling

below my heart and around my feet.

                     

I found an oiled pelt four miles back. It was

scuffed with betrayal and worn from hurt.

In a mile's time, I hope to discover healing

(liquid message in a bottle)

for the welts beneath my dying skin.

                   

Tell me it isn’t too late to adorn myself.

Let me roll off my own shoulders, like rain,

settle into my palm a butterfly

resting its wings. I will see my reflection

in the runoff, in the stillness after flight.

                  

I want to pry open my ribcage,

release an ancient sigh, see froths

of venom evanescing (a wave's white water).

I have reached for acceptance

                    

in the cold of December,

limbs numb from snow,

and grasped for the hand of deliverance

in the clear skies of June. Every time

              

I run my fingertips over reminiscence,

I fold up a barely quenched rage, tucking it behind

(inside) my lungs and try to breathe around it.

Tell me it isn’t too late

                   

for the kiss of life.

               

In the burning end of autumn’s dance,

my oiled pelt will renew my scars.

And as I catch fast water (pools

beneath my feet) it will still,

as I have stilled,

                

and I will cup my hands to the Earth

finally able to hold absolution.

                

***

A/N

This was the first poem Poppy and I wrote together. (My first collaboration!) Poppy is truly wonderful, and I'm so honored that she considers me a friend, as I consider her one too.

We wrote two poems in the end, each one about forgiveness, though from different angles. I highly recommend you go check out her profile for some more of her masterpieces.

Click here for Part 1:

As always, thank you for reading!

                  

surreal poetry
42

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    How did this pass me by? 😮 Stunning imagery and symbolism. ‘I fold up a barely quenched rage, tucking it behind (inside) my lungs and try to breathe around it.’ will stay with me for a long time. Well done for a deserving TS 👏

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Superb writing!! Congrats on your top story and leaderboard placement! 😊🎉🎉👏

  • Andrei Z.7 months ago

    Upon my first read, I found it heavy (like an oiled pelt?). Now I read it again, and I see elegance in these lines. As if you are reaching the state of ultimate omni-forgiveness and then you're invincible.

  • Sara Frederick7 months ago

    This poem was exquisite. I loved ..."I want to pry open my ribcage, release an ancient sigh," - so provoking and it feels so honest.

  • Luther7 months ago

    Nice I wish ❤️ I mine where this good

  • Ward Norcutt7 months ago

    a visceral and provoking piece! and, to me, a very important theme. Beautiful.

  • Rob Angeli7 months ago

    Gorgeous poetry, congratulations on top story. A kind of progressively scarred reconciliation, washed over by the seasonal changes. I'm interested to know what was the manner of collaboration? Did you write separately and build, or toss it back and forth, making changes?

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    These were amazing. Well done, both of you!

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    I love the colab idea!!!! This is stunning work 😍😍😍😍😍

  • Joe Patterson7 months ago

    This was very beautiful. Congratulations on your top story.

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    This is such a beautifully moving poem. So very well done and so very deserving of Top Story. Congrats.

  • Tahira Kainat7 months ago

    Great story

  • Poppy 7 months ago

    Woohoo Top Story!!🥳

  • Brenton F7 months ago

    I would like to echo the adulation and cheer expressed below but they pinched all the good words. This is so damn good, otterly brilliant! Makes me want to run off to a river somewhere Kudos to you both!

  • Test7 months ago

    Remarkable and beautiful, Mackenzie! 💙Anneliese

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Og my. Just gorgeous. Congrats on the TS.

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    yay, pals! Congrats on a well deserved Top Story!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    I have no words! This was such a breath taking poem Mackenzie!! I love the flow and overall feel of it!! Beautifully done!!

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Truly compelling, I regret that only one of my reads will be counted because this one demanded a second savouring

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Loving this line, "In the burning end of autumn’s dance,my oiled pelt will renew my scars." Fantastic & congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎊❤️📝🤝

  • Mattie :)7 months ago

    Fire absolutely fire Mackenzie!!!

  • Kenny Penn7 months ago

    So I’m not exactly the best judge of poetry, Mackenzie, but I felt like this one was a prize winner. It felt deeply personal and emotional. You and Poppy did great!

  • This was mindblowing! You and Poppy make a great team! I especially loved tucking the unquenched rage behind the lungs and trying to breath around it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.