Poets logo

Oxygen

How can we breathe with no air?

By Jasmyne BrownPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

Dear Breeze in the trees,

Please take me with you.

I wince in pain of my thoughts and memories

I feel like my heart can only take so much.

Why do I hurt and you can be so free?

I pray one day to be swept off my feet

By you, by God, by my one and only love

To go off with the wind to feel the warm sun.

Up close and personal,

I can’t take the heat.

It seems to me

The only thing that truly promotes change

Is pain.

I cry and woddle

Shaking off those feelings

Of helplessness and worry to try and meet again with myself make my heart less holey.

Cracks and breaks, my heart weakens slowly,

Yet while I cry my breath deepens.

I know I can get through this

I’ve done it all before

But sometimes I just wish I could be free once more.

Life can’t be this bad for everyone.

But it’s only mine I see

Every time my heart cracks I feel like

it’s not it’s cut out to be.

But I know myself and I know my God,

And I know in my heart there’s reasons I’ve made it this far.

I can make it over the mountain.

I don’t have to live in fear!

Because once I feel you,

The purpose of my journey gets clear.

So I ask again dear Guiding Wind,

Please take me with you.

Because with you I feel unstoppable

As you wipe away my tears.

You make me feel strong

When you push me to my limits.

You made me realize,

I don’t have to hate the pain because life feels better with it in it.

Feel free to visit,

I could use the reminder

Of the life you give me

To find blessings in the mysteries around us.

With Sincerity,

Your child.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jasmyne Brown

A young, wild, free-writing black woman. Junior at Spelman College, aspiring astrologer and teacher of love. I hope to use this space to clear my head and tone up my writing skills and creativity. Stay ready, be easy, be blessed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.