Poets logo

Overthinking: The Need To Know

A tale of a place between two extremes, needing to know everything and not wanting to know anything. The very thin line between the sometimes dark power of knowledge and very appealing bliss of ignorance. On the side of the former, I find myself most often.

By Josh MorganPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
Overthinking: The Need To Know
Photo by christophe Dutour on Unsplash

Thinking to myself- What am I doing?

If it's true that thoughts determine direction then where am I going?

Too often questions arise about all I'm pursuing

Overthinking does nothing but prevent any growing

Overwhelmed by the years that have gone by me

Thinking somethings wrong with me

Too often fears consume my mind but I can't let them control me

Sometimes I can't help but overthink

The line between objective and subjective can be confusing

And what about the methods I'm using?

Talking to myself- Where's this conversation going?

Between when the doors are opened or closed-

What's the difference with me?

Who am I supposed to be?

On one coin there's two sides- Pride and insecurity

Which one will I be choosing?

I'm fighting myself so how am I the one losing?

Too many times I can't help but overthink

As I write to myself I can only hope to find the answers to all I've been asking

I know in every place where problems exist, that so does opportunity

But sometimes I can't help but overthink

How can I possess all the love in the world but run out when it comes to me

And have the time for everyone and everything but nothing left for me

This is where my thoughts brought me

I've been thinking too much

Some things need to change

Thinking to myself- What am I consuming?

What lies have I believed that lead me here

What feelings are feeding the war inside of me?

Overthinking again

Here I am toeing the line between knowledge and belief

A line thinner than the ice I'm skating on

Just inches above the abyss that is the misconception that ignorance is bliss

But I'll lose my mind if I overthink one more time

I guess it's a lose-lose

So at the time I lose my grip on my sanity what will come of me?

Overthinking is my reflection- The need to answer every question

To know everything- but at a cost

One notion too many will bring all belief to cease

What treasures lay within the layers of my mind will be forever lost

Only one piece will remain- Of what used to be a place of peace

Now a scene of anxiety- I couldn't help but overthink

performance poetryMental Health

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Josh MorganWritten by Josh Morgan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.