Poets logo

Ominous

The voices I’m hearing are very, and quite uncomfortably familiar. Recurring sounds that I should probably be used to by now. Not that want to be…

By Josh MorganPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Ominous
Photo by Racim Amr on Unsplash

What used to be a quiet place

Is no more...

My inner world

I'm not alone anymore...

What was that?

Who's there?

I can feel a presence

An ominous sense

Something- Almost like a pressure

Surrounding me

But, I can't see anything

Who's there?

No one

No thing

At least, that I can see

But in this absence around me

I can feel them- Crowding me

The eyes that surround me

I see them when I close mine

They won't let me sleep

These looming figures- Standing over me

And their voices- Echoing

Ominously- Mellowing

Quietly- Shouting

I hear them, everywhere "here" is

They're uncomfortably familiar

Spouting lies day and night

It's all I hear

I cry for help

But no one's here

I can't breathe under the weight of this atmosphere

"SHUT UP!"

It's useless

"GO AWAY!"

They won't- They're here to stay

Or, overstay- A welcome they never had in the first place

I'm stuck with them

Following me- Always close

Shrouding me in a shadow of doubt

All I can believe in is the nonappearance of any way out

What used to be a quiet place- Is no more

What solitude I once found comfort in- Is no more

What's taking place in here-

Warfare

As if living in a nightmare

Robbing me of my peace

Killing me- Softly, slowly

Destroying every last piece

Of everything I could ever hope to be

Taking from me

Everything

My own world

performance poetryMental Health

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Josh MorganWritten by Josh Morgan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.