Poets logo

Overcoming Failure

Pep Talk

By Mattie :)Published 8 months ago 1 min read
2
Overcoming Failure
Photo by Paige Cody on Unsplash

I haven't been in a very creative mood this week

I'm not entirely sure why

This week has been way less stressful

I should of been writing a like machine

But I wrote nothing until now

Whenever I'm not writing I feel a bit let down

Like I'm failing as a writer

Which obviously I know isn't true

Yet those feelings remain, punishing and shaming me like a wicked grad school teacher

It's so strange when I can't write

It's almost like my mind completely goes blank

Everything I've learned or written vanishes from my thoughts

I can hardly read a few sentences from the book I've been reading through for weeks

Ugh

Why does this happen to me

I wish there were a way to turn my creative side on and off like flipping a light switch

Until that happens I guess I'll just have to be patient and wait

Wait for the muse to finally return and spread her glorious wings upon me

Failure isn't completely defeat

Instead failure is more a lesson of sorts

This moment of terror did give a good idea for when I feel less creative

I'll try, reading the first chapter of a favorite book

I feel like doing that will help me get started again

And create something fresh and new before I return to my uncompleted manuscripts I've been working on for decades

surreal poetrysad poetryheartbreakart
2

About the Creator

Mattie :)

I'm a 29 year old curious and creative soul. Spread love like a wildfire.#NonBinary #Christian #WellsFiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Oh that feeling is like the unwelcome visitor that drops by without calling first 🙈

  • Hope you feel better soon. Don't give up ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.