Poets logo

Never Forget

Thoughts

By Mattie :)Published 8 months ago 1 min read
2
Never Forget
Photo by Jametlene Reskp on Unsplash

Today marks the twenty second anniversary of 911. That day will always affect many, including mine.

By Aidan Bartos on Unsplash

Nine Eleven of 2001 Marked the first year of school for me. Either kindergarten or first grade. Honestly I don't remember which one. I was actually home schooled through grades K-12, so I was at home learning all about my ABC's when grandma suddenly called and told my mom to turn on the news. My mom spent the rest of the morning and throughout the day, watching the horrific events unfold. I got out of school for the day which honestly was nice, yet at the same time I realized something bad had happened.

I always wonder what the world would be like today within America as well as across the globe if 911 never occurred. Still to this day nine eleven plays a role in how we live life. It's sad, yet interesting how tragic events change life like the events of Covid or other worldly events. I don't necessarily agree with many of the choices made by previous administrations on both sides of the political spectrum, yet those choices were really made from the tragic results of 9/11/01. It really shows us how much smaller the world is then we normally assume.

I obviously don't have the answers to defeating terrorism or other notable topics within the harsh scope of political conflict, yet I do know that love is an answer we should always be seeking. I feel for the families who lost so much on that day. We complain constantly about the daily things we do when they're nothing compared to the pain and sorrow others are feeling. I can't imagine waking up today, remembering what happened again and again to those family members and people. It's really heartbreaking even today.

Like I mentioned above we all must love more and hate less. Anger leads to hate and hate leads to suffering on so many levels. I always hope society learns from our mistakes and grows together. Learn from the past to improve and create a better future. That's something worth fighting for.

social commentaryart
2

About the Creator

Mattie :)

I'm a 29 year old curious and creative soul. Spread love like a wildfire.#NonBinary #Christian #WellsFiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Love more ans hate less! This is something that everyone should follow!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    My roommate woke me up to watch the news when it happened. It was so hard for me and still is to watch any footage. It brings the anger right back. I really loved the ending line in your article. "Learn from the past to improve and create a better future. That's something worth fighting for." So much truth! Well done, Matt!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.