Poets logo

over the rainbow

without you

By AshPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
over the rainbow
Photo by Arnaud STECKLE on Unsplash

gazing up on starry nights, caught wondering if you are looking down on me or upon me...

I know I only find disappointment within me to find someone other than God to blame for taking you away sooner than I was ready.

that night your eyes said "tomorrow will start without me, and I will get to sleep in." how you expected me to carry on, I will never understand.

The universe tells me thats just how it goes, life happens. You're over the rainbow and I'm stuck here living in black and white wondering when I'll get there too.

moments come and go, memories become more distant... Thinking about you at times feels more like gasping for air; I look for you in the birds and the bees but sometimes, sometimes it's hard to see.

Some pain you simply can never get rid of; never lighten the load, only learn how to take it off your shoulders, tuck it into our hearts and hope that it is easier to carry.

gripping tight to memories of you, hoping they never dissipate, deflection before detection helps keep the reality away.

I know you're there, in the trees and the breeze but I simply wish for you to be here, to be close to me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ash

Hello there! I'm ashl I love writing poetry, the main source to express the inside onto the outside, or essays as a conversation between you and me in order to hear myself better at times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.