Poets logo

lost in translation

misunderstood

By AshPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
lost in translation
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Your head is up in the clouds, think you have a bird's eye view but really you're stuck on cloud nine; blissful ignorance to you.

you don't twist words you rewrite them, so desperate to avoid the actual reality of what is said.

I say blue, you hear red,

I say left, you hear right,

I say stop, you hear go.

every conversation with you is nothing but a game of telephone; a game for you to put words in my mouth in order to ignore me.

every boundary I set, you take as a challenge of how to bulldoze it down; take my body, mind, and spirit as something for you to trespass on.

every wall I put up to keep you out you dig under my skin to get through to the inside.

every attempt to communicate the point is just another drive around the roundabout.

I have realized now, that not every time does my side of the story need to be heard or understood. Nothing but wasted time trying to be heard by those married to the commitment of misunderstanding.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ash

Hello there! I'm ashl I love writing poetry, the main source to express the inside onto the outside, or essays as a conversation between you and me in order to hear myself better at times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.