Poets logo

out of the between

of all the places

By Oliver KippPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
out of the between
Photo by Erik Odiin on Unsplash

A strange sense of limbo exists

in bus terminals, train stations, airports,

a waiting in the between places.

There belonging,

crooked bench seats,

rolled up sweaters and backpack pillows,

scuffed floors,

white noise announcements.

It's after the leaving.

It's before the coming back.

It's a constant longing to be somewhere else.

So when I close my eyes to flickering fluorescent,

I'm brought to hear seagulls

mixed with your laughter.

An inside joke, never ending.

And there, my friends eyes

the day the light cut through the forest leaves.

I see us racing down the street,

grabbing your favorite snack from the same old corner store.

Then eyes open still see limbo,

the uncertainity dwelling betwixt there and back again.

Of all the places I've been,

and the journeys in between,

whenever I close my eyes, I know

it's time.

Home I'm coming back to you.

performance poetry

About the Creator

Oliver Kipp

writer, poet, creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Oliver KippWritten by Oliver Kipp

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.