Poets logo

Our Own Fools

Stories

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
6
Our Own Fools
Photo by Rachel on Unsplash

When did my heart become the enemy ? when my own flesh the feast of fools ?

when did I stop defending my own

and sell myself - to (ridicule ?)

why must I have outside approval ?

my own opinion, holds no weight

what is it, begs me for renewal ?

needs you to nod and VaLiDaTe

Unrecognizable, my own face

my very tongue, an alien

valued, weighed, measured and replaced

gold traded for titanium

the flower blooms and waves keep crashing

wonder and awe, don’t change a thing

the wind will blow, and tiny bird sing

a path, nothing, if I don’t go

we all have voices to tell a story

the one you tell, different from mine

but tell it still, without approval

no- one but you, those thoughts define

inspirational
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.