Poets logo

For The Girl In Me

I Am The Poem Yet To Be -

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
4
For The Girl In Me
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

The poet in me, wants to be the princess in the poem

she wants to be the treasure at the center of the storm

She longs to find adventure and not settle for the norm

to find her truest happiness, in all its varied forms

I prefer to be the bridesmaid, being the bride takes too much work

I was faithful to a man who wasn't, and carried all that hurt

I went from socially well known, to an outcast, introvert

I'd rather be here all alone, than live a life on high alert

So, write me sonnets of the flowers

and wind wisping through my hair

Sit and talk with me for hours

about, whatever we may dare

But please don't sell me promises, you don't intend to keep

I've already played that game, and I don't like being a sheep

Write me bold, beautifully spirited and don't forget to make me loud

For I am the subject of my poem, and that really makes me proud

slam poetry
4

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joelle E🌙11 months ago

    THIS IS AMAZING!! What is with this darn website… this should be a top story imo…. Thanks for sharing 👏🏼👏🏼❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.