Poets logo

Our Last Bite

Poem: J Series

By Rilee AreyPublished about a year ago 2 min read
2
Our Last Bite
Photo by Shelby Cohron on Unsplash

The last time I was here,

We were sitting across from the booth I am at now,

I was holding your hand and smiling as tears swelled in my eyes,

Knowing that at the end of this meal was goodbye,

You were being strong,

But I could see the sadness in your stare,

For the last meal we would share,

You ordered the loaded biscuit,

Sharing food with you always hit different,

You would create a perfect bite for me,

Curated enjoyment within what we eat,

An experience within the taste to the ambiance,

A shared plate of assurance,

It was a perfect end to our last bite,

Though, I wish I could go back to that night,

Because now I sit in this booth alone,

Trying to recreate a perfect bite of my own,

but it hits different,

It tastes different without you here,

I remember you sitting there,

Telling me you don’t want this to be the last memory we share,

For these booths to not represent the tears from your eyes,

Or the acting like we are alright,

Every time the waitress passed by,

You didn’t want this place to be remembered as our end,

You wanted me to return and still seek enjoyment,

I wish could pretend, that that’s where we ended,

Instead of the empty promises and resentment,

I wish I could still see you sitting across the booth from me,

Finding enjoyment in what we eat,

Rating our experience from one to ten,

Feeling like I mattered to you even at the end,

But we don’t talk anymore,

I don’t know if the reminders of me still feels sore,

I don’t know what this place means to you,

I don’t know if you have been back too,

But for now, I still see you in that booth,

I know that goodbye the was our real truth,

That everything else was coated in emotion,

That led us to our erosion,

You may hate me now,

I can understand how,

But I hope you can also see this place,

As a space of love, not hate,

Because that’s what it means to me,

At Great Scotts Eatery

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.