Poets logo

Our Kind of People

Side Effects of Survival

By Kimmie HitePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lights Off

For shame strength has become the new pride goes before the fall

But I hope when you think of me you realize I will risk it all

When it comes to doing what needs to be done

To protect my kids, my role and the man I gave the key to unlock my heart

So later we can walk down the aisle because gave motivation to fix my crown

Walking by faith not sight is what you reinforced in me

So if at any point I have come incorrect

Living in my everyday struggle

Please note strength is not a trait

It’s an everyday thing for me

I must uphold so I don’t let down my Dynasty

So Dear Man caught up in the system

Designed to trip you up every time you dare to breathe

When simply live, laugh and love as all you want and need

Just know the more they press you

I’m applying the same force

And if they continue till I’m stressed

I might snap off on reflex when we converse

But it’s only cause you not here to relieve some of the pressure I’ve endured

As long as you don’t break a cardinal rule

I will always make sure your surviving and thriving

Not dying alone while your paying your debt to make it back home

Do right by me I’ll do you one better

Just because I’m a brat and upstaging my man gives me pleasure

So everytime you rise I one up you

Till we steadily build and we come up

That’s what real love do

Yea I’m stuck in my path

Kinda happens when absence and presence

Lays broken foundations, no guidance and generational curses

At least I know one thing I got a decent head on my shoulders

For all my baggage I’ve endured I still love purely and freely

And I owe it to the curse of my identity

Being able to see the struggles of both male and female

A female raised by two and a half men

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Kimmie Hite

Born in the Philippines as a military brat I grew up as a kid exposed to all walks of life and cultures. Currently, working on releasing self published book while living with lupus nephritis as a single mother waiting for transplant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.