Poets logo

Our First Date

A Shakespearean Sonnet about a first date in Summer

By N. S. PaldinoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Our First Date
Photo by Arseniy Kapran on Unsplash

You take me to Julia's in the height of June

I've never had lemon zest in butter on bread

The Sun dips into the lake, evading the Moon

A solar break-up, I wonder what the Moon had said

We drink in the night like tart berry wine

And I'd never seen such a smile on your face

When you kissed me slowly as if you were mine

On the overlook where the Moon first started his chase

The lake, a black mirror music box

The sky, an embroidered blanket of stars

Our bodies pressed like lovers' lips upon the rocks

As the Moon wishes he had what's ours

You say I'm your Sun as we lay in the park

But I can't help but disagree-

I'd never leave you when times gets dark

So the Sun I could never be

love poems
3

About the Creator

N. S. Paldino

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.