Poets logo

Our Everest

From the Tope of the World To Home Via A Dream

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago β€’ Updated 2 years ago β€’ 2 min read
28
Top of the World

This is a collaboration between Melissa Ingoldsby and Mike Singleton , from a concept that came from a chat, for Vocal Homecoming Challenge.

This is unlike anything I have done before and I am sure the same for Melissa and contains a wonderful dreamlike road away from the main narrative which then returns for the finale.

The lead in music is β€œEverest” by Public Service Broadcasting.

Apologies Quick Edit does not allow me to change Tope to Top in the subheading

🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫

Here I stand at the top of the world, Cold

White snow my company I stand alone

Though I Am Here I Dream that I am Home

But to feel warmth , a descent must unfold

🏫

So down this mountain I must now descend

The blizzard is blowing,blinding my sight

Going down from this peak is now a fight

I want my home so much, but I feel condemned

🏫

Each step I take this mountain begrudges

It wants to keep me here on its white slopes

Prisoner forever , But I won't stop

I skid down and down out of its clutches

🏫

And then I dream …...

🏫

We find solace in the waters below

They will evaporate into our breath

The mountain that was born from our daughters

The way we feel has given us prominence

🏫

Alone, carry me into the wild winds

Where the lost and the lonely find themselves

Deep in the waters of old and young

The sun will never ever find you now

🏫

The mountain’s quiet demise was great,

By the lapping embrace of that exhale,

We loved that fine old precipice

Believing anything but truth

🏫

And then I come to …..

🏫

Coming down the road my home in the distance

Calling me , It knows I belong in there

I want to be home, Know It loves me for sure

We belong together , Not Rocket science

🏫

Home,where my Love is, holding out her hand

Home where friendship finds me, feeling I am Loved

Home is full of warmth, Fire burning , Grand

Home makes me feel safe , with my roof above

Protection from rain and snow. Understand

Home’s where I belong. My Palace Beloved

🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫🏫

performance poetry
28

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Celia β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsamabout a month ago

    Beautiful poem!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Re-read!!! Previously heartedβ€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • The service people have changed my title twice. I tell them what I needed changed and the did it. Very nice work πŸ’–πŸ’–

  • You and Merly are a dream team! This was awesome!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is lovely. Well done to you both.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.