Poets logo

Ottoman Petals

Love poetry

By Imabong FaminuPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Ottoman Petals
Photo by Rita Ox on Unsplash

Our paths were destined before time To walk together never to part Fate’s unseen hand entwining our hearts Deep to deep our souls did call A race to run and grace willing to win

Secret schemes, lies, and deceit Sullied the way and muddied the path Such faulty foundation and rocky beginnings Destabilized love’s compass Leaving us Unbalanced, confused and abandoned

On unsteady feet we flayed our gait disrupted Tottering and rocking In constant danger of fear and falling Always at risk of uncertain doom A hair’s breadth away from total destruction Threatening to tear us apart now and forever

Our love was meant to be tested and tried By fiery fires within and without Till purified and refined To stand the test of time and chance And forge a forever to withstand life’s stormy weather

Jealous interests schemed and tried Hacking away with devious intentions Dangerous and masterful weaponry Lies, deceit, hate, malice, and blackmail Blind ambition, jealousy, evil, and rage

Till we stood poles apart A sea of broken glass between Unable to discern truth from fable Beholding only fractured images Painted by others and rendering us strangers

Destiny and fate communed together Assured of our place in time and history Reached out to change the course of destruction Unraveling hidden lies, untruths, and larceny Unveiling the hidden and illuminating the path

The light beam pierced through the fractured glass Making a path for us to see each other clearly Broken glass gave way and crashed around us Till we stood beholding each other Surveying the glass shards of untruth and mistrust

Our eyes speaking before our lips Our hearts yearning before a touch Whispered apologies and teary reconciliations Quiet explanations and opened communication Healing rent hearts and shattered emotions

Bridging the distance and standing as one Melting away the yawning gap Of Mistrust, misunderstanding, hurt, and pain Rekindling a love tried and tested A promise elicited extinguishing the past We sealed our promise with a kiss

Jan: My fragrant rose Your perfume beckoned and I sought you out Over a thousand mountains and seas, I searched Seeking my one and only beloved Fate and destiny smiled at me Leading me home to where my Sanem waited for me Your tender smile and crazy ways Captured my heart and stole my gaze My rare rose petal and fragrant one I will not give you up to another

Sanem: My beautiful mountain lion You are more than many brothers Never did I consider myself worthy of a love so tender Your loving heart and sweet care seek me everywhere Fiercely protective and ever near I am covered by your warm cocoon Fate and destiny have smiled as one Leading us here for all and all Jan, my mountain rock and beautiful albatross My place is by your side I will fight for you Grace willing, they will never tear us apart

For Jan and Sanem Inspired by Erkenci Kus

© Faminu Imabong, 2021

I recently discovered Erkenci Kus, a Turkish language romantic comedy and instantly fell in love with it. It chronicles the beautiful love story between the two main characters Jan Divit (Can Yaman) and Sanem Aydin (Demet Ozdemir) and the many challenges and twists and turns their love must endure before they can finally be together. This poem is inspired by their love story and the drama series as a whole

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Imabong Faminu

I write poems about life & love. I write about movies & other things. Want to know more about my work? Click link below for more info

https://linktr.ee/Imabongfaminu_wordsrwine

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.