Poets logo

Options

Red or blue?

By Sam Anarchize Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

What colour do you prefer red or blue?

The guy on the dating app asks,

Apparently this defines my personality,

Red is the dress as she spins to the song,

Red painted lips for her voice I long,

Red is my heart longing for my mother,

Red is my blood made also by one other?

Red are my eyes from crying everyday,

Red is the pain that doesn’t fade away,

Read are the books as a study my lost culture,

Red is what I see as I try to keep composure,

Red was the wine that I drank to forget,

Red was the book I read to heal we never met,

Red is rose pinned in her bun,

Red are my cheeks praying love will come,

Red is the card given on Valentine’s Day,

Red is passion, yet love never came my way,

Red are the bills that came through the door,

Red is what “lovers” left spilt on the floor,

Red is a wedding dress I hoped I’d wear,

Red is the colour when the sun shines on my hair,

Red is the her flag, the middle part is yellow,

Red is the cape I wear like a “matador”, so shallow,

Red is the signal when I want to see her face,

Red are my palms when I see a child embraced,

Red are the bricks this country feels like my prison,

Red is my passport, I’m not Anglo Saxon,

Red was that secret burning on my tongue,

Red is the damage that can’t be undone,

Red are my nails I tap waiting patiently,

Red is the warning that I don’t want to see,

Red Are are the scars that are etched across my breasts,

Red is a postbox full of letters not addressed,

Red is by far my favourite colour to wear,

Red is the knowledge my mother doesn’t care,

Read is the poem now I hope you see,

Red is a life of pure apathy,

Take away red,

I guess I’m left blue,

I told him it was hard for me to answer,

Why?

Red is wild I said,

Blue is the ocean,

What’s your star sign?

Taurus and born in the year of the cow.

(I have a sword through the heart and can’t forget that.)

What is different about me? (I won’t tell you about me.)

What do you see as different?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sam Anarchize

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.