Poets logo

Open Me Carefully

a plea

By Sara LittlePublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Like

Open me carefully, dear reader

for these ancient dusty pages frail

may crumble and sift through

your loving fingers -

Open me gently, like the dawn doth a rose

each petal delicate as a dew drop

that falls silently under night’s cloak

and burns away with the morning’s sun -

Open me tenderly, as the moon

upon midwinter snow

and whisper your wordless prayer

in my still and silent sanctuary -

Open me softly with feather-light kisses

like the beat of the butterfly’s wing

the breath of a sigh

that stirs up hurricanes -

So, open me carefully, dear reader

and pluck each line like the strings of a harp

to sing my story

then let me burn after the reading.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sara Little

Writer and high school English teacher seeking to empower and inspire young creatives, especially of the LGBTQIA+ community

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.