Poets logo

Open Letter

Penned to you

By Ditra GravesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Open Letter
Photo by Jed Villejo on Unsplash

Dear E,

It's crazy, I didn't even know that you had passed. I had seen you months before and pasted. You were with your girl; I didn't know what to say. I didn't recognize her, and I didn't want to cause you any issues because O could see it was something going on when you all were in the store. Now looking back, I just over thought the moment. Prior to that moment it had been years since we see each other. You always had my back growing up. I can't remember one time you had an ill motive towards me. You put me on to game when my little sister was acting up. Almost 20 years since we walked that stage, we all went our own separate ways. I never knew you had a kid until I tried to play the funeral services back.

I remember when you and D was talking when we were in high school, and you wrecked your little red truck. E, I'm sorry... maybe all you needed to hear was a word for me to shift the direction your life was going. I heard that you had caught multiple charges at some point in the years and that your liver was failing but I heard all this after the fact.

Brother, you meant a lot coming up K-12. You never wanted to be like your uncle and wanted to leave the neighbor. You left here to soon. I love you E.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Ditra Graves

I am a writer and photographer ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.