Poets logo

Open Invitation

Are you coming in?

By Deanna Repose OaksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The bedroom door once locked

Is now open wide

I stand on the threshold

Hesitant to go inside

As memories of his touch

Skate across my skin

I allow myself

To think thoughts full of sin

While in the doorway

With my body on fire

I reign myself back

Coiled tight by desire

A place to duck

When the world shakes

I lean on the frame

Applying the brakes

My emotions run deep

Below all the lust

I want to forsake them

But I'm afraid to trust

That I can walk out

After I've gone in

Because I know his true heart

I can't win.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Deanna Repose Oaks

Deanna Repose Oaks started writing poetry as a teenager and never stopped. Inspired by an Editor's Choice Award for "I Give Up" from poetry.com in 2006, she started publshing books in 2007.

Find her on facebook: @deannareposeoaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.