Poets logo

Opaque Magic

If the point of life is to find true happiness, is this fake?

By Charleigh JusticePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Opaque Magic
Photo by Cristian Escobar on Unsplash

They say life is all about the little magical moments,

but I haven't felt a magical moment in what seems like years.

I fell in love once,

but my heart was quickly broken.

I've made many friends,

but they've all left

or proven they never knew me at all.

I missed my senior prom

And spent the night alone on the sofa,

A pint of ice cream in hand and my eyes glued to the television set.

I ignore texts from people who want to talk with me

and delete emails offering once-in-a-lifetime opportunities.

I want to live like this,

relishing in the relaxation

and not giving a damn about going out on the weekends.

But I miss the days when I felt.

The Friday night football games where the lit field felt so beautiful and unreal.

The adventures with my friends when I felt like we would keep in touch forever.

The nights when I couldn't fall asleep because I was so thrilled to be able to live and see the next day.

Even when it hurt,

it was something.

Even when I was falling apart

from a broken heart

or shattered trust,

I felt alive.

It was addictive.

If I could,

I'd shove an IV in my arm,

and the bag attached would be bursting with those feelings.

I don't want to live

going through the motions.

I don't want to live

bored and jaded.

I want

excitement,

adventure,

love.

But I'm tired.

How can you live a life,

let alone a life worth living,

when just existing day after day takes all you have?

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Charleigh Justice

Hello! My name is Charleigh, and I am a freelance writer taking a gap year before studying creative writing and theatre in college. I love writing and constructing sentences from nothing, and I hope you enjoy the ones I've made for you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Huey Houser2 years ago

    I think the feeling is well presented with this form. It's a clear image of sadness that many have felt at one point or another in life. My one point of critique is just a recommendation of trying some different forms. Stanza patterns can be as unique and artistic as the words. I'm sure there's some great stuff you could do with a vignette poem or a classic AABA- Ballad form! It's a emotional, raw poem, good through and through.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.