Poets logo

One Year and Counting?

Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-8255

By Kiersten FoxPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

I don't self harm anymore

but I still pick at my lips, hangnails, scars, bug bites...

anything to feel the tear of flesh.

I don't self harm anymore

but I still make myself sick

and refuse the medicine I know can help me.

I don't self harm anymore

but I still stand in the shower

slowly turning up the heat as my skin sizzles

and steam fills my lungs til I feel like I can't breathe-

I don't want to breathe.

I don't self harm anymore

but I still get hauled away from steep cliffs and over bridges

by loved ones who can probably tell

I look ready to tip right off the edge.

I don't self harm anymore

but I still sleep thirteen hours at a time

because I cannot stand to be conscious.

I don't self harm anymore

but I walk in front of oncoming traffic, genuinely indifferent

about whether they hit the brakes or not.

I don't self harm anymore

so maybe I don't want to end my life,

but I don't think I have the will to save it either

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Kiersten Fox

Constantly searching for new ways to challenge myself and develop new writing skills. I mainly write poetry, but also enjoy summarizing psychological journal articles. Thank you for exploring my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.