Poets logo

One Thousand Kisses

For my woman

By Deb SimmondsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
One Thousand Kisses
Photo by Fausto García on Unsplash

I kiss my wife a thousand times a day

A brief rise-and-shine awake peck

A pre-toothbrush foggy greet

The first glance of the day

Of many that repeat until we submit to sleep again

Kisses are not just for soft lips

They are given from blessed finger tips

From flashed eyes and salty tears

My words trip as kisses from my tongue

I kiss my wife a thousand times a day

I kiss her with a smile

That’s shared between just us two

Or a glass raised in a public salute

My kisses brush her hollowed back

Through my palm poised and steady

I hold her close and near to me

Each kiss is more than a token of my love

It is a reaffirming badge

I kiss her with a smile.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Deb Simmonds

Creative writer. Women led stories. Crime, dark comedy, lesfic novels and short stories. Poems when the mood takes me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.