Poets logo

One Side Of The Coin

A free verse poem

By Talia DevoraPublished about a year ago 1 min read
One Side Of The Coin
Photo by Kanchanara on Unsplash

Every time

I entered his space,

I didn’t find

anything I was searching for.

On the table,

I saw one coin-

a one-sided coin

I wished to discard.

Every time

I’d flip the coin,

I’d only find

one side of the coin.

Hunting for a two-sided coin

became impossible-

a giant energy taker

that’d put me to bed.

He was a complex conundrum-

a golden coin

that only had

one side of the coin.

I relinquished,

I uttered to myself,

“You know what?! I can’t solve this mystery anymore! I’m done. Maybe someone else will find another side of the coin.’

That was that.

I no longer

possess the one-sided coin;

that’s tons of weight

off my shoulders!

By Eduardo Soares on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my poems. If you enjoyed this read, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment, and please feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Please stay tuned for more articles, poems, stories, recipes, and much more!

Please feel free to follow me on IG: @tdwrites24 (my author accounts and @taliascreations331 (my artist account)!

By micheile henderson on Unsplash

surreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! ❤️❤️💕

  • Diani Alvarengaabout a year ago

    I love the metaphors you used for your poem!

  • ❤️😉

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Hi Talia ~ Your stories always 'Pop-Out' remembrances to me. Including your 'Pesach' story which I forwarded around to my readers; especially to my Jewish Community Centers that follow my Silly Articles.*They loved it! Coincidence: This lifted from my "Pick your Battles" "...Life is like a coin, spend it any way you want, but once it's gone it's gone — Is it Worth it? Save your Strength — - Vocal Authors Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

Talia DevoraWritten by Talia Devora

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.