Poets logo

One Night Out

The Dancing Stranger

By Anike AyeniPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
One Night Out
Photo by Azamat Zhanisov on Unsplash

Voices echo throughout the room.

The sea of bodies appears to be never-ending.

Music booms from speakers overhead.

Still, my heart needs mending.

It was a chance to start over.

A chance to forget the present.

Yet every second was wasted.

The night quickly became unpleasant.

The clock keeps ticking slowly.

Why did I come here tonight?

I feel so dull.

Unaffected by the rainbow light.

Behind me came an influx of whispers.

Light hits the source of the commotion.

The crowd began splitting in two.

A dancing stranger who's caught everyone's attention.

I'm lost in amazement.

He moved with passion.

Such power in each stride.

On his face, a welcoming expression.

The man gets closer.

Never breaking his gaze from mine.

I feel my mind racing.

I feel the slowing of time.

I'm gently pulled close to his chest.

His heartbeat, the fabric of his shirt, and the cologne.

"Please don't go.” He pleaded.

“I rushed over after seeing you all alone.”

“I don’t even know your name?” I countered.

“Why should I even stay?”

The man gave me the softest smile.

“I see. Then you can call me Jay.”

We swayed to the beat.

Like we were the only ones in the world.

I'm falling deeper and deeper into him.

With every step, every twirl.

There's a strong gravitational pull.

Keeping me locked in his orbit.

I felt the spark I'd been missing.

I want it all - I want to absorb it.

"What's wrong?" I asked.

When the stranger suddenly stopped to make a cute frown.

“Our time is almost up.”

I chuckled. “Is that why you look so down?”

I thought long and hard.

Our eyes were locked.

I knew he also felt the connection.

But up until now the road to my heart had been blocked.

Should I let him in?

Will it truly be fine?

My heart can’t handle another blow.

But Jay…he makes my world shine.

I pulled his phone from his pocket.

Shock covered his face.

Placing it back in his hand, I say,

“Let’s exchange numbers. Tomorrow. My place?”

love poems
1

About the Creator

Anike Ayeni

Hello there!

I am the eldest of 4 children. I love games and horror. My family has an adorable pug named Princess Nala. I love to cook and bake. Who knows what I'll post about~

Follow me on Instagram @mama_koolkat!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.