Poets logo

one more like

how social media is ruining my mental health

By Anthony TerryPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
3
one more like
Photo by Prateek Katyal on Unsplash

The perfect words to describe the perfect situation

The likes coming in and affirming what I want to believe

I have the perfect life.

Sitting and checking

Waiting and comparing

My last post to your last post

A highlight reel trying to compete for attention

It's always depressing to see you with all the attention

Instead of a friendship, all I see is competition

I want to rise above and feel the love of your likes

Nothing matters except did my post do better then anothers

This unhealthy comparison

Your highlight reel to behind the scenes of my life

Depression overwhelms thinking I will never be as happy as you

Not seeing the true colors of life I fall to the belief I'll never be good enough

This is the world we live in

Make believe

Always connected but not together

Social media reels of unhealthy expectations

What is our choice?

Become irrelevant or live in comparison?

Just fighting for one more like on my social media

Please like this post so I can feel a bit of joy today!

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Anthony Terry

Hello, I like using poetry and music to help connect people and find the meaning of life. We all have our own unique stories and I want to share mine to hopefully inspire you to share yours!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    It seriously is a competition for likes, views and shares! And it's an addiction! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.